Healing The Fears – Seven Root Fears

Basic Emotions

  • Love
  • Fear

Love is anything that expands your consciousness, whereas fear is anything that contracts your consciousness.

We can also say that, anything that holds you back from looking at the larger picture or experiencing the joy of life is “Fear”

  • Origin of Fear
  • How Fears are formed?
  • Words uttered by people around us
  • Shame and guilt
  • Shock
  • Abandonment
  • Deprivation
  • Emptiness
  • Expectations

All emotions can be classified into two types – love-based emotions and fear-based emotions. Love brings us closer to the divine source, All that is, Tao, God or whatever we may choose to call it. Fear makes us go away from our source. If we can transform our fear-based emotions into love-based emotions, our lives can be full of joy, For this, we first need to understand our fears. Fears can be classified into seven basic types.

  • They are as follows.
  • Self Deprecation
  • Arrogance
  • Self-Destruction
  • Greed
  • Martyrdom
  • Impatience
  • Stubbornness

All of us have all the above fears to some extent. However, for each one of us. There is one of these seven fears, which predominantly rules our personality.

We need to first identify the fear, which rules our personality. We are influenced to a greater extent by two of the seven fears, than the remaining five.
However, closer observation reveals that one of these two is more predominant. The more predominant one is the primary fear and the other one is the secondary fear.
Having done this, we need to understand the root cause of the fear and then transform the fear into its positive pole.


This is the result at the fear of being inadequate and is characterized by feelings of “I am unworthy” and inferiority complex in which self-esteem suffers greedy through constantly putting oneself down. A person with self-deprecation often apologies.
For example, a person has invited his friends over for dinner and he keeps telling his friend’s things like. “I am sorry my house is not big enough”, “I am sorry I could not make better arrangements”. People of this type have self-deprecation.

The Positive Pole of Self-Deprecation is Humility, Openness, being soft-spoken and unassuming, proper perspective and understanding of ones position relative to others.

The Negative Pole of Self Deprecation is Abasement, Putting oneself down.

Once this fear is transformed into its positive pole, the feelings of inferiority are replaced with humility.


This is the result of the fear of being judged, fear of Vulnerability, being inferior, fear of rejection, fear of being intimate. Arrogance is the feeling of shyness or low self-esteem that is covered by a veneer of high self-worth or an air of superiority. A person with arrogance develops an attitude of superiority to mask his/her shyness and can appear to be shy or acting superior. These individuals often look perfect and flawless and tend to have an invisible wall around them. They are very worried about their appearance and place a great deal of attention on themselves. They do not allow others to intrude into their personal space as they have very defined personal space. They are prone to lying. They always tend to judge themselves and others. For example, a person who had been judged very severely during early childhood may become shy and aloof while at the same time develop an air of superiority. Such a person easily judges himself/herself and others.

The Positive Pole of Arrogance is Pride, Perspective on achievements, self-esteem, being self assured, and being independent.

The negative pole of arrogance is vanity, superiority, self-aggrandizing, haughtiness, snobbery, pretense, shyness, judgmental nature.

Once this fear is transformed into its positive pole, individuals become determined, strong willed and shed their judgmental nature.


This is the result of the fear of life arising out of the belief that life is not worth living and is characterized by motivation to harm oneself either physically or emotionally. These individuals can have an unbalanced, crazed or desperate look in their eyes and are often physically deteriorated. Self-Destruction is often chosen for a specific karmic reason before incarnating. Alcoholics. Wild daredevils, Drug abusers, and actively suicidal individuals fall into this category.

The Positive Pole of Self-Destruction is Sacrifice, Surrender, and willingness to give something valued for the sake of something greater.

The Negative pole of self-destruction is self-sabotage. Suicidal nature, ruthlessness.

Once this fear is transformed into its positive pole, individuals become willing to give something for the sake of something greater. They become ready to repay their karmic debts.


The fear of not having enough is greed. This is characterized by feelings such as “There is never enough of what is want”, and “I want more and more and more”. The fear of lack need not be related to money alone. It can also relate to love, knowledge, experience etc. it can manifest in the body as an insatiable crawling for food, alcohol, sex or drugs. Emotionally, Greed can manifest with cravings regarding relationships, love and things like clothes and jewels etc. Such people tend to have large mouths and have an unmistakably hungry look.

The Positive Pole of Greed is Appetite. Allowing abundance, seeking, and fulfillment.

The Negative Pole of Greed is Voracity, Eternal dissatisfaction, Gluttony, Hoarding, Poverty consciousness, obsessive, hoarding, and being money-hungry.

Once greed is transformed into its positive pole, the individual feels fulfilled and abundant.


Martyrdom is the fear of being a victim or a fear that one is not free but trapped by either circumstances or by another person. A person in this category puts oneself through needless suffering. Such people suffer from victim consciousness and often look overburdened.

The Positive Pole of Martyrdom is Selflessness, Putting oneself out.

The Negative Pole of Martyrdom is Victimization.

Once Martyrdom is transformed into its positive pole, the individual takes charge of his/her life and no longer feels like a victim.


The underlying fear, which causes impatience, is the fear of missing out or a fear that there is not enough time. Such people always seem to be in tearing hurry.

The Positive Pole of impatience is acceptance.

The negative Pole of impatience is intolerance, judgmental nature, and frustration.

Once impatience is transformed into its positive pole, the individual is able to accept people and situations by seeing the big picture.


Stubbornness arises from the fear of change and fear of giving up ones position. Easy to identify by their body language, stubborn people have a set jaw and “don’t mess with me” look.

The Positive Pole of Stubbornness is Determination, Fixedness of Purpose.

The Negative Pole of Stubbornness is Rigidity, Inflexibility.

Once Stubbornness is transformed into its positive pole, the individual acquires a fixedness of purpose and positive intention.

One may wonder why we have chosen these fears, given that we choose our characteristics before incarnating. The fact is that we have chosen these features so that they help us to learn the lessons that we have set out to learn in this lifetime. However, due to our conditioning based on the influences of our past-lives, our parents, the society we live in etc.. we begin to operate on the negative pole of the feature, and this does not serve our purpose. Every feature has a positive pole and it is possible for us to transform our fears into their respective positive poles. They then become our greatest strengths and help us achieve our life’s purpose.